New Year’s Resolutions and Day 7 #JanYOUary #30DayFlatAbs

We’re already a week into 2015, and I have finally decided on my New Year’s Resolutions for this year.  As I had mentioned previously, I don’t want to use my fitness goals as New Year’s Resolutions because these are commitments I’ve made to myself, New Year or no New Year.  So I thought a lot about what I wanted my resolutions to be for this year, something to better myself in some way.  Here’s what I decided on:

  1. Blog most days of every week.  I have to admit, this does sort of tie into my fitness goals, but only in a secondary kind of way.  Blogging is one thing that keeps me motivated.  The more I work out, the more I blog.  The more I blog, the more I work out, because what am I going to keep writing about if I’m not pushing myself and doing things to reach my goals?
  2. Wash my face before I go to bed every night.  This is something that I used to do every day when I was younger, but for the past few… years (bad, I know)… since I started wearing Bare Minerals make-up that doesn’t break my face out when I do sleep in it, I’ve started just waiting until I wake up and shower in the morning to wash my face.  The trouble is, I think this might be one of the reasons I have these wrinkles under my eyes that I feel are really noticeable and I don’t like it!!  So, wash face, apply eye wrinkle cream, every night.
  3. Travel to a place I’ve never been before.  I have a few ideas of places I’d like to go, for example New Orleans or Seattle, but it doesn’t necessarily have to be some place terribly far away or expensive.  You know, I’ve lived in Texas my entire life, and I’ve never been to Austin – our state capitol?  Well, there was one time my flight from San Antonio to Dallas was re-routed to Austin because of bad weather, but I never even got off the plane, so that doesn’t really count.  I love to travel, so this is something I’d like to do more of this year if I’m able to.

So there you have it.  What New Year’s Resolutions have you guys made for this year?  I’d love to hear about them.  🙂

Anyway, yesterday was pretty crazy.  I wasn’t able to get my workout in until right before I went to bed last night, since we had company and I had to eat dinner before they all got there.  I didn’t have a whole lot of time and I was pretty tired, so instead of doing the full Blogilates workout, I did 32 reps of each of the #30DayFlatAbs Challenge moves and ran 2 miles with Nike Plus app.  I was able to get my 10,000 steps in for the day as well.

nike 1-6-15  fitbit 1-6-15

 

dinner 1-6-15Dinner was really good, by the way.  Steamed chicken seasoned with lemon pepper and garlic salt, cooked in one of those Ziploc steamer bags.  Roasted red potatoes were seasoned with cayenne pepper and brown sugar, and a little bit of Ranch dressing on my spinach and cherry tomato salad.  It was very flavorful, and I’ve really been enjoying eating these healthier meals for dinner this week.

I’m not sure what all I have planned for the day, but I do hope to get to the gym, probably early in the day.  I normally go to the gym after I get off work and make dinner each week day, only because that’s the only time I really can go since I don’t have the motivation to wake up extra early just to go work out.  And also because it’s not like I can just leave my 3 year old nephew here by himself at 5:00 a.m. while I go work out in the morning.  If I didn’t have to work every day, I’d definitely go earlier in the day when I have more energy.  They say the best time of day to work out is the time of day you function the best, and for me, that is in the morning.  I’m much more of a morning person than a night person.  Once it starts getting dark outside, my body starts telling me it’s time to go to bed.

It’s leg day today, and that Hips Butt N Thighs workout is insane!  Definitely challenging… but keep up the hard work, and keep challenging yourself every single day.  You’ll start seeing the changes you want to see before you know it!  I’m already seeing positive changes in the mirror, not to mention on the scale this week, and I haven’t even taken a progress pic yet!

Leave a Reply

