Running For My Life

Today I have running on my mind.

I live in Lubbock, Texas, and if you’ve ever lived in Texas, you come to understand how true this is… texas weather 1

 

It snows so rarely here that the city is just not prepared for road conditions, and everyone driving has to maneuver through the ice.  We had over 100 car accidents in Lubbock on Dec 30 because of icy roads.  Needless to say, after driving around with a bunch of people who drive like crap on a good day, you learn it’s best to just stay home when the roads do get bad because until it warms up and melts off, there’s just no guarantee for your safety.  If you do have to get out, you drive really really slowly and hope everyone else does, too.

zachs club fbSo I have one serious case of cabin fever right now!  I was considering braving the streets to go to the gym this morning, but then I saw this on facebook… no child care today.  Well, fooey.

Well, that’s ok.  I have a treadmill here at home, and of course my Blogilates workouts can be done at home.  That doesn’t solve my cabin fever, but at least there’s something to do.  🙂

So back to running.  Running has become my favorite cardio exercise.  Which would dismay probably anyone who knew me as a kid or even up until just a few years ago.  This used to be me…

dont run funny

I’ll probably never be one of those people who runs marathons or even runs like 10 miles a day.  No, I don’t even like running outside.  But I do love running on the treadmill, which I know is totally opposite of what most “real” runners would say.  And I’m ok with that…  I don’t work out for anyone but myself.

I found this treadmill workout today that I want to try.  Each set is said to burn about 100 calories for the average 150 lb female, give or take depending on your weight.  A full set is 10 minutes, so repeat it as many times as needed to burn the calories you want to burn.  It says to repeat 4 more times for a 500 calorie workout, but I don’t spend 50 minutes on the treadmill that often, so maybe 2-3 times for me will do.

graphic_treadmillworkout

Click for the Spark People article.

 

 

It’s funny… in the past you’d only catch me running to save my life.  Now, I still run for my life… just in a different way.  🙂

Speaking of cardio, today is Fat Burn Focus on the Blogilates workout calendar.  🙂  Not to mention Day 3 of the #30DayFlatAbs Challenge.  Is anyone else keeping up with that?  What do you think about it so far?  I’ve been doing more reps than required because I’m so used to doing the moves that 5 or 6 reps isn’t challenging for me… and I’ve learned by now…

challenge change 2

One comment on “Running For My Life

  1. Pingback: Thank You Letter to #Blogilates | Nicky Does Blogilates

Leave a Reply

