4 Good Luck Foods and Flat Abs for New Years

It’s the last day of 2014.  I can’t even believe it.  I’m home from work today because of some winter weather here in Lubbock, Texas, so I plan to make the most of it!  What movies should I watch??  Hmmm…

Today I wanted to post about the foods I like to eat for “good luck” on New Year’s.  These are traditions I’ve picked up through the years in one way or another.

4 Good Luck Foods for New Years

Black eyed peas with curried potatoes, carrots, and peas

Black eyed peas with curried potatoes, carrots, and peas

The first is Black Eyed Peas.  These are said to bring Good Luck for the new year.  This was the one tradition my family had growing up, so this is an old tradition for me.  Some traditions say you should eat one black eyed pea for each day of the year.  I don’t ever go that far, but I always make sure to eat these for New Years!

Cabbage Coleslaw

Cabbage Coleslaw

The next is Cabbage.  Some even say greens in general, such as Kale, spinach, or other leafy greens, as this is supposed to bring you Prosperity for the new year, and the green color is said to symbolize money.  This is a not quite as old of a tradition for me that started when I went away to college after high school.  I lived with my aunt and uncle who introduced me to this New Year’s traditional food… although their idea of cabbage was not exactly my idea of how to eat it!  Now, I don’t have any delusions of expecting to get rich on my social worker salary, but I do like to keep my bills paid and food in my tummy :).  What do you like to add in your coleslaw?  I like to add some dried cranberries to mine, along with the carrots.

Baked Pork Ribs (boneless)

Baked Pork Ribs (boneless)

Next on the New Year’s menu is pork.  Pork is a pretty new tradition for me that I was introduced to only a few years ago by some friends.  Eating pork is said to bring you Progress, as pork comes from the meat of pigs who only move in one direction – Forward!  This is to signify moving forward and not looking back this coming year… like Cassey says in the 2015 Fit Planner!

“Don’t look back.  You’re not going that way.”

Grapes

Grapes

And finally, the last item on my list of good luck charms for the New Year: Grapes!  Eating grapes right before the stroke of midnight on New Year’s Eve is said to bring you Good Luck, and some traditions say to eat one grape for each month of the year.  Some even believe that for each grape you eat, you can tell which months of the year will not be quite so lucky if a grape isn’t as sweet, for example, if the 7th grape is a little sour then July will be less lucky than other months.  I just started this tradition a couple of years ago as well when I started celebrating New Year’s Even with my boyfriend and his family.

Flat Abs for New Years

Blogilates 30 Day Flat Abs Challenge

Blogilates 30 Day Flat Abs Challenge

I’m pretty excited about the Blogilates 30 Day Flat Abs Challenge we’ll be starting tomorrow.  We’ll be doing this in addition to the #JanYOUary workout calendar… more on that tomorrow!  😉  Anyway, I’ve got my sheet printed off and ready to check some boxes, I’ve got my Blogilates 2015 Fit Planner ready to go, and I’m about to start working on my menu for the next couple of weeks to kick off the New Year with some steam. Other than that, I’ve got today’s workout, the last Blogilates workout of the year, and a Netflix playlist to keep me occupied for the rest of today, and tonight we’ve got some CELEBRATING to do!

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

