One Lovely Blog Award

one-blog-lovely-award

Happy Sunday everyone!  I woke up this morning to find that I had a nomination for this One Lovely Blog award by the lovely MeiPlusOne over at her BLOG about Beauty and Lifestyle.  I just want to express my gratitude to Mei for this nomination.

This is how the award works:

1. You must thank the person who nominated you and include a link to their blog.

2. You must list the rules and display the award.

3. You must add 7 facts about yourself.

4. You must nominate 15 other bloggers and comment on one of their posts to let them know they have been nominated.

5. You must display the award logo and follow the blogger who nominated you.

Unlike the Liebster Award which is aimed at newbie bloggers, this award has no restriction as to who you can nominate!

7 Facts About Me:

Ok, I’ll try to make these as interesting as possible, which might not be an easy task.  At least it’s only 7, and not 50!!  (I refer you to the 50 Random Facts About Cassey (The Workout) video where we did 50 roll-ups while Cassey Ho told us 50 random facts about herself.)

#One: I am a farm girl.  I grew up on a farm with crops (cotton, peanuts, alfalfa) and animals (cows, horses, donkeys, pigs, goats, chickens, turkeys, rabbits, cats, and dogs).  We ate breakfast and dinner at my grandparents’ house every single day, and we almost always had fresh food from the garden, fresh laid eggs, and sometimes even the freshest of meat from the chickens, turkeys, and (gasp) even the rabbits.  (Now I have 2 dogs and the extent of my gardening are the ungodly number of weeds growing in my back yard.  I can barely stand to handle raw meat I buy at the grocery store to cook it.)

Nicky and Acem#Two: I guess you can say I’m a Cougar… my boyfriend of over 2 years is nearly 10 years younger than me.  He definitely doesn’t act like typical guys his age – he’s sort of an “old soul” like I am, and if you see us together, you’d never know just by looking at us that there’s such an age difference.  He’s such a great guy, and the kind of guy every girl should aspire to be with – he’s ambitious, hardworking, generous, caring, considerate, slow to get angry, we never really fight ever and when we disagree about anything we’re able to talk things out like rational people.  He’s going to school right now to eventually become a physical therapist.

Rogue - Christmas 2013

Rogue – Christmas 2013

#Three: I mentioned earlier that I have 2 dogs.  They are Rogue and Zoë.  Rogue was a surprise Christmas present from my oldest brother, Brent (he’s 5 years younger than me – I’m the oldest), for Christmas 2006.  He was only 6 weeks old and so adorably cute!  Rogue is still the Baby and he’s a big ol’ 65 lb lap dog.  (And people think all pit bulls are aggressive??)  Zoe was adopted from an animal shelter in October 2010 after I saw her at a pet adoption event at Petsmart one day.  I walked up to her cage and put my hand up to the side.  She got up, walked over to my hand, and put her paw up to my hand.  That just melted my heart!  I ended up calling every animal shelter in town that next day to try to find her, and the rest is history!

Zoe - Christmas 2013

Zoe – Christmas 2013

#Four: I’m one of those people who has no desire whatsoever to ever have kids.  This sounds a little strange when you know what I do for a living… I’ve been a caseworker/social worker for Child Protective Services for 6 years (Since August 2008).  My entire career involves working with children.  It’s not that I don’t like kids; I do.  (Well, at least I do now.)  But I have not ever wanted kids, not even as a kid, not as a young adult, and still not now in my 30s.  Which is pretty ironic, now that my nephew is coming to live with me for a while here pretty soon.  My nephew is only about to be 3 years old – he’ll turn 3 in November.

#Five: I’m a Psychology enthusiast.  I began my college education right out of high school attending South Plains College in Levelland, Texas (aptly named, as we have no hills out here on the South Plains, and not really any trees either.  Maybe that’s why the wind blows 70+ mph all the time.)  It took me a total of 4 years to complete my Associate of Arts degree between working full-time and taking a few semesters off here and there.  But then it was time to get serious.  I started my Bachelor of Arts in Psychology at Texas Tech University in January 2005, minoring in Social Work, and graduated in May 2007.  (Side note: Check out TTU Football Coach Kliff Kingsbury doing the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge in style!)  Then, after a few years at my job, I decided I’d find an online program I could complete while still working my crazy job, so from July 2011 to February 2013 I completed a Master of Science in Psychology through University of Phoenix.

#Six: I have this crazy, irrational fear of heights.  It’s so bad that I can’t even look UP at really high-up things like tall buildings, clouds, or stars!  I can’t fly a kite, and I can’t sit on a tall stool if my feet don’t touch the ground unless it’s a chair with a backing.  I used to have to fly a lot with my job, moving kids who had family members across Texas or in another state, so I had to get over my fear of flying pretty quickly, but I have to take a book to read so that I can focus my thoughts.  It never fails, every time the pilot comes on the intercom saying we’ve reached 10,000 feet altitude, I can feel a panic attack trying to creep up on me and I have to quash it before it takes me over.  MIND OVER MATTER!

And finally…

shutters#Seven: I’m a Do-It-Yourselfer.  I really like doing projects around my house, and before I met my boyfriend who also loves doing all kinds of projects or just helping me with whatever I’m doing at the moment, I used to have to do things by myself out of necessity.  For example, I had to replace my garbage disposal a few years ago when mine quit working.  So I got my little tool box, got up under my kitchen sink, and just figured it out.  I also ripped out all the flooring in my living room and kitchen with the intention of staining the concrete (I don’t really care for carpet, which was in my living room, and I definitely don’t like the linoleum flooring that was in my kitchen when I first bought my house several years ago).  Unfortunately, there were a lot of flaws in the concrete that made it impossible to do the staining, so I ended up having ceramic tile put in instead.  I also like to do little crafty things, like these decorative shutters I made out of 2 old wooden pallets, some red paint, and some decorative metal pieces I found on sale at Hobby Lobby.  Can you tell that red is my favorite color?

My Nominations:

Here are my 15 nominations for this One Lovely Blog Award.

1. The Jerry Project

2. Doing It Together

3. The Extra Pounds

4. Losing It

5. Fat to Fit

6. My PiYo Progress

7. My Active Life

8. This Is Why We Lift

9. Coachliana

10. Nuala

11. PluAnna

12. A. K. A. Lunch Lady

13. No Shortcuts

14. It’s About the Journey

15. #nofilter Fitness

 

 

2 comments on “One Lovely Blog Award

  1. Pingback: One Lovely Blog Award! | A.K.A. Lunch Lady

Leave a Reply

