Total Body Workout and Why Not All Carbs are Bad

Total Body Tone Tuesday Workout:

8-12 calendarAnother good workout today!  (Do I say that every day?)  We’re getting some total body toning action, and I can tell you that Train Like A Beast workout is no joke!  It’s tough.  The only video I can think of that is harder than that one is the EXTREME Abs Workout we did on Sunday this week.  But you know what?  As Cassey Ho says,

“If it doesn’t challenge you, it doesn’t change you.”

You know what Cassey Ho also says?

“Train like a beast to look like a beauty.”

So that’s what we’re going to do!  We’re going to challenge ourselves every day.  We’re going to push ourselves out of our own comfort zones, we’re going to try to get one more rep in before we stop for a break.  When we do stop for a break, we’re going to jump back in faster than we did yesterday.  You know why?  Because tomorrow we’re going to be better than we were today.  After all, you should be the only person you’re comparing yourself to in your fitness journey!

Carbs Are Not All Bad:

Why, oh why has this sudden trend exploded saying that you have to cut out carbs if you want to lose weight or to be thin?  Really it isn’t even a “sudden” trend, because people have been doing this “Atkins” low-carb diet for years and years.  This is the diet that approves of (specifically) bacon, fried eggs, ranch dressing, sour cream, and diet soda, but high-fiber, protein-rich Superfood Quinoa doesn’t make the cut?  Don’t get me wrong… I do eat/drink most of those things (not the fried eggs or sour cream), but not on a regular basis.  More of like every now and then and in moderation, because I feel like setting rules restricting certain foods is setting yourself up to fail.

Carbs not only supply energy for your entire body, down to the cellular level, but they also help in the regulation of blood-sugar, digestion (more on that later), and brain function.

Now it’s time for a personal story, sad but true.  Each year, I usually participate in giving up something for Lent.  While I am not Catholic, I still feel like this is something I personally want to participate in for my own faith.  So for Lent, the idea is that you choose something to give up for 40 days that you would consider to be a sacrifice.  Last year, my sacrifice was “major carbs” (bread, potatoes, pasta, rice, and sweets).  Of course I knew that cutting ALL carbs was not possible, since carbs are in almost everything you eat, even vegetables.  But I wasn’t doing this for dieting or losing weight – it was because I recognized this to be something I tended to over-indulge in on a regular basis.

Needless to say, I only made it 2 of the 6 weeks that year, because my body literally began to rebel against me.  I’ve never had such… let’s call it “digestive issues…” in my entire LIFE!  It’s funny now, but at the time, it was no joke.  I learned a good, valuable lesson that year, and this year I chose something way more realistic (carbonated beverages).

So how do you know the difference between a good carb and a bad carb?

All you really need to do is apply the same logic of “eating clean.”  If it’s a whole, natural, unprocessed food, then it is good for you.  If it is processed, it’s probably not so good for you.  There are a few exceptions, like whole grain or whole wheat bread (usually good for you).  If you still have any doubts, here’s a pretty good list I found that might be helpful, thanks to The BodyFit Coach Meghan O’Marra.

...and don't forget quinoa!

…and don’t forget quinoa!

 

 

Leave a Reply

