Poll: Workout Buddy – yes or no, and Plank Challenge Day 6

Today’s Workout:

Did everyone have a good Friday of rest yesterday?  I know I did.  It’s weird how I still think I should be doing some type of workout that day, when it’s my only rest day for the whole week.  Does anyone else feel like that?  I usually end up doing something anyway, like taking the dogs for a walk, mowing the yard, or even hitting up the gym because I know it’s going to be dead in there on Friday nights.  Yesterday, the extent of me doing something anyway was walking around Walmart for an hour after eating the Zuppa Toscana (soup) at Olive Garden for dinner.  It wasn’t much… although I was wearing some heels.

Only 3 videos today for the workout playlist, but they are some good ones!  Especially the Train Like a Beast Look Like a Beauty workout.  Oh, and by the way!  I weighed myself this morning when I woke up, and guess what?  I’m now weighing 151.6.  That’s 10 lbs down from where I started so far, and only 6 lbs away from the upper end of my healthy BMI weight.

2014-07-18 13.20.15

Plank Challenge Day 6:

IMG_20140717_204647What??  I somehow pushed myself to do almost 10 more seconds than Day 5!!  It’s funny, because I’m somehow able to push through for longer each day, but it doesn’t seem like it’s getting any easier for the most part.  It’s still a struggle starting about 15 seconds in.  It’s all sheer will-power.

 

Workout Partners:

I saw this article on Spark People yesterday about the importance of having a “Goal Buddy” to keep you motivated to work out and achieve your goals.

facebook_1405706282230

Spark People – “Goal Buddies are Golden” (Click for article)

While they have some valid points, I just can’t bring myself to agree with this!!  I’m not sure if this is because I’m such an INTROVERT (being around other people drains my energy, unlike Extroverts whose energy increases when they’re around other people – at the gym where you need as much energy as you can get!) or if it just boils down to personal preference, but any time I try to work out with other people, it just ends up keeping me from doing the workouts I prefer to do, and from the intensity I prefer to do them at.

For example, I like running on the treadmill.  One of my friends I usually work out with does not like treadmill, so I’ll usually replace my treadmill workout for a different cardio machine, which I never put as much effort into or stay on for as long.

When I go to the gym with my boyfriend, he likes to “personal train” me, giving me pointers on what machines to try, and how my form should be, etc.  This is fine, to an extent, but when I hear all the critiques on my form, and how I need to change this up this way and move this that way, I just end up frustrated and give up soon after I started… which then frustrates him because he thinks I don’t value his help.

So what do you think?  Do you get a better workout alone, or with a workout buddy?

2 comments on “Poll: Workout Buddy – yes or no, and Plank Challenge Day 6

  1. Pingback: Sunday Booty Blast and Best Diet Pill On the Market | Nicky Does Blogilates

  2. Pingback: Booty Blast, Diet Pills, and Finding Fitness That Works For You | Nicky Does Blogilates

Leave a Reply

