Staying On Track Away From Home and New Plank Challenge

Today’s Workout:

I’m posting late today, but how did everyone like today’s workout?  That Food Baby Hiit gets me every… single… time.  These were all some great “Sexy Saturday” workout videos.  I’m also rather proud of myself for getting this workout in today, because I’m out of town visiting family this weekend since my mom was put in the hospital this week for complications with her Multiple Sclerosis.  (She is doing a lot better now!)

Eating While On Vacation:

And by the way, eating clean has been super hard this weekend, also.  When I come “home” to visit, I always stay at my Grandma’s house because that’s where I have room to stay.  My grandma hasn’t cooked since my Papa died over 10 years ago, so every meal is eating out for her.  I won’t even get started on that subject.  So when I got here Friday around lunch time, we went and had Mexican food.  I managed to find a pretty decent salad on the menu, dubbed “Cowboy Salad” pictured below.  It was very fresh and very tasty, with mixed greens, diced fresh tomato, shredded cheese, shredded carrots, and grilled onions, bell peppers, and chicken with some fresh avocado on top.  (I didn’t eat the enormous taco shell, but topped it with their salsa and a tiny bit of Ranch dressing – which they were not stingy at all with, by the way!!  Check out that bowl of it they gave me on the right, next to the bowl of salsa!)

Cowboy Salad - El Cerrito's - Springtown, Texas

“Cowboy Salad” – El Cerrito’s – Springtown, Texas

I ate breakfast for dinner that evening with a sausage and egg sandwich on toast.  Let’s just say Howell’s Cafe in Springtown, Texas, sort of an old-style small-town diner, is not known for its healthy offerings.  Their pan-fry is “to die for” though! 😉

So the first thing I did this morning was make a trip to the grocery store to get some healthy items to eat today.  Cheerios for breakfast, smoked ham and tomato sandwich with mustard on 45-calorie Multi-grain bread for lunch, and for dinner I baked some chicken with some roasted red potatoes.  I was going to have salad on the side, but… remember how I said my grandma hasn’t cooked in over 10 years?   Guess how old all the salad dressing she had on hand was… (I’m not even kidding!) so I ate plain lettuce on the side instead.

Plank Challenge:

So now that dinner is eaten, workout is completed, and blog-post is almost written, it’s time to work on something new I decided to start on as of yesterday.  Right before bed last night, I decided to see how long I could hold a plank – elbows on the floor with knees off the floor.  Here was my time:

Initial Plank Time

Initial Plank Time

So just for fun, I’m going to set a goal for myself to see how long I can hold a plank.  I’m not going to make a big thing of it, mostly because pretty much the only benefit of being able to hold a plank longer than 30 seconds to a minute is to be able to hold a plank longer than 30 seconds to a minute… according to some fitness experts (?).  Anyway, for now, I’m not going to set a certain end-date or length of time I hope to make it to.  For now, I’m just going to try to make it longer today than I did yesterday!

Anyone else want to join me?

2 comments on “Staying On Track Away From Home and New Plank Challenge

  1. Pingback: Plank Day 2 and My Top 8 Fitness Apps | Nicky Does Blogilates

  2. Pingback: New Inner Thigh Workout and Giving Up Excuses | Nicky Does Blogilates

Leave a Reply

