Hard Core Workout, HIIT, and the Importance of Eating Clean

Ok, so who tried the new EXTREME Abs Workout yesterday?  All I can say is… WOW!!  I thought I was going to die.  And then, I turned around and did it a 2nd time just for kicks.  Yes, I’m feeling the consequences today. But, as Cassey Ho says, “Sore today, Strong tomorrow!

Any men out there brave enough to give it a try???

I wanted to get some cardio in, but since I got home so late from work yesterday evening, by the time I ate dinner and finished the Blogilates workout playlist, it was really too late to drive all the way to the gym for some cardio.  So instead, I grabbed a dumbbell and…

1 - we-cant-stop-POP-HIIT

Blogilates – pop hiit 1

Print this baby out and take her to the gym with you next time!  Tell me what you think and how many sets you can get through.  So far, I can only get through 2 sets before I’m totally dying.

The Importance of Eating Clean:

What are your favorite clean-eating meals?  I like easy-to-make foods that I can just throw together quickly after I get home from work, because I try not to eat too late in the day.  Sometimes, like yesterday evening with late home visits (I’m a social worker), it is unavoidable, which makes it even more important to eat healthy and clean.  I won’t even go into the whole stress/cortisol weight gain issue that goes hand in hand with my field of work.

I don’t know how many times I have been pressed for time during my workday, so I drove up the street for a quick, cheap, fast-food taco plate to get me through the rest of my day.  The trouble with that?  All that greasy, processed food, while completely tasty, made me feel so tired, all I could think about was taking a nap.  Then I’d still have to trudge through the rest of the day, sometimes making long, boring drives that made me even more tired.  My waist-line kept growing, my energy levels kept draining.  (Talk about a negative correlation!)

Now, I plan my meals in advance so I stick to the healthy stuff a whole lot better.  I save money because I make my own food, so I’m not having to pay those high prices at restaurants or fast-food places, and I only buy what I need for the week when I do my grocery shopping.  My new favorite invention: Ziploc steamer bags!  Not to mention, I’m eating seriously delicious food, I get full on MUCH LESS food than I used to eat, and I don’t feel lethargic in the afternoons after lunch any more.  Here is what I ate for lunch and dinner today, for example.

IMG_20140707_121858 (1)

Lunch – Lean ham rolls, Baby Bell cheese, Baby Carrots, red seedless grapes, and sliced watermelon.

IMG_20140707_221054

Dinner – Grilled pork chop, steamed carrots, and spinach salad with some Ranch Dressing

What are some of your quick, easy, and delicious clean-eating recipes?  I need some new ideas!!

2 comments on “Hard Core Workout, HIIT, and the Importance of Eating Clean

Leave a Reply

