July 4th Weekend, Workout, and Turkey Burger Recipe

How is everyone’s July 4th weekend going? I had a great Independence Day off work yesterday and got to spend some good relaxation time in the back yard and in the pool.  We had some friends over and grilled some Blogilates inspired turkey burgers with baked sweet potato fries.  I’ll post my recipe below.

It was nice that July 4th fell on a Friday this year, which happens to be the Rest day on the Blogilates workout calendar.  Does anyone else feel like Fridays are the perfect days for taking a workout break?  It somehow always works out perfectly for me, but I’m also one of those lucky people who actually has weekends off.

Today’s Workout

I just finished today’s workout, and it was another good one today.  The first video in the line-up is probably my top favorite Blogilates workout video so far: The Ultimate Hot Body Workout for Flat Abs, Slim Inner Thighs, Perky Butt & Toned Arms.  (Long name, amazing results?)  I sweat pretty good by the end of the workout today, especially after wrapping things up with a little cardio session.  🙂  I noticed I had a little trouble today with those scissors that work the inner thighs.  My legs were shaking like crazy before we were half way through that one!!  I really had to push myself through.

Yummy Turkey Burger Recipe

Turkey Burger

Turkey Burger

You’ll need:

  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1/4 Red Bell Pepper, finely diced
  • 1/4 Green Bell Pepper, finely diced
  • 1/4 Red Onion, finely diced
  • 1/8 cup Cilantro, finely chopped
  • Salt and Pepper to taste, if desired
  • Whole Wheat hamburger buns (this time I ate mine on Oroweat Sandwich Thins)

Oroweat Sandwich Thins

Oroweat Sandwich Thins

Directions:

Mix the ground turkey, diced peppers, onion, and cilantro, salt and pepper (if desired) all together in a large bowl.  Divide mixture into quarters and shape into patties.  Grill until cooked all the way through, about 5-10  minutes (possibly longer) depending on grill temperature.  If you over-cook it, you might find it gets a little too dry, but the veggies in the mixture really help it hold in the moisture.  Serve on a whole wheat bun with baked sweet potato fries.  Top with things like mustard, cheese, and vegetables (sliced tomato, lettuce or spinach leaves, fresh onion, pickles, etc.).

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

