Chicken Stir-Fry Recipe and Today’s Workout

Yesterday was a pretty good day for me.  I started the day off by eating a homemade granola bar for breakfast.  For lunch I kept it light with a sandwich and some Sun Chips.  I like to use the Sara Lee 45 Calorie whole grain bread.  I wasn’t a fan of the French Onion Sun Chips… the Garden Salsa flavor seems to be my favorite.  But overall, it was pretty good.

For dinner I made a delicious chicken stir-fry with minced garlic, ginger, broccoli, bell peppers, and white onion.  Throw in a little soy sauce, and Voila!  See my recipe below to make this at home.  Its SUPER easy!

2014-07-18 22.31.44

Chicken Stir Fry Recipe:

  • 1 lb chicken breast cubed
  • Mrs. Dash seasoning – to taste
  • 1 Tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1 Tbsp minced garlic
  • 1 tsp minced ginger (or to taste – you can leave this out if you want)
  • 1 small bunch of broccoli florets, separated
  • 1/2 green bell pepper chopped into bite-size squares
  • 1/2 red bell pepper chopped into bite-size squares
  • 1/4 white onion chopped into bite-size squares
  • 1/4 Cup Soy Sauce (or to taste)

After I cook the cubed chicken and drain out the liquid, I sprinkle some Mrs. Dash seasoning on it.  Keeping your burner on medium to medium-high heat, make a little space in the middle of the pan, throw some Extra Virgin Olive Oil, then the minced garlic, and let that simmer for a minute or two.  Then I throw in a little dab of minced Ginger and mix everything up.  Add the broccoli florets next so they can soften by the time it’s ready, and then pour on a little Soy Sauce.  You can use some of the Soy Sauce now and the rest of it at the end.  Next is the bell peppers, and last is the white onions so that they aren’t completely mushy when it’s time to eat it.  I like to still be able to taste the freshness of everything.  Throw it over a bed of brown rice, and it’s ready to go!

Blogilates Workout

I felt pretty good after yesterday’s workout.  I was pretty amazed at how long I was able to keep doing most of the moves, but by the time I got to the Perky Butt ‘N Long Lean Legs video, I was having to use modifications.  Stronger every day!!  I waited to do my workout until right before I went to bed last night, so I fell right to sleep without any trouble!  Before that, I swam for a little bit after my dinner had settled and took the dogs for a walk and a bit of a jog around the neighborhood.  They may not understand, “Don’t pee on that tree!” but you say the words “Go for a walk” in my house, and you better be ready to grab the leashes!!

Here is today’s workout playlist.  I can’t wait to get home from work today to start these!  Is that crazy??

2 comments on “Chicken Stir-Fry Recipe and Today’s Workout

    • That’s a great idea! Sometimes I add some maple syrup to give it a hint of sweetness and help the glaze be a little bit thicker, which is also pretty tasty. I’m not sure how healthy that is, but… 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

